Awkward Heroics

When I was a senior in high school, the English curriculum was heavily centered around aspects of a hero, and the hero’s journey. One example of a hero’s journey that we studied was the movie Braveheart. During one of the scenes of the movie, the king of England makes some sort of evil plan about sacrificing his wife and somehow using it to his political advantage; when one of his subordinates questions him about his plan, he says something evil sounding like “a queen must make sacrifices for the good of her country…” I thought that the way he said the line was pretty funny, so I turned around smiling to my buddy who sat behind me. The only problem was, I didn’t know that he was absent that day, and I ended up smiling at some random Asian girl I didn’t know, sitting two desks behind me. She looked sort of startled, and was probably pretty confused. I didn’t know what to do so I just turned back around and faced forward. That little scene didn’t go unnoticed, and for the next ten minutes I heard classmates around my immediate vicinity snickering. It was… It was pretty embarrassing, but I was laughing as well. Eh, what can you do? That’s life.

Leave a Reply

