Walking in Fall

The entire Fall 2013 semester was a big stream of craziness. Even when I was just walking to and fro, I’d always seem to stumble into odd situations…

 

One time I was just on my way home, walking down Telegraph. I got to the stoplight across the street from Buena, and I see this guy sprinting across the little field there. This guy was wearing all black, he had a black hat with a flap in the back, a black scarf hanging out of his back pocket, and a piece of black cloth tied around his pant leg. He looked like he had just come from a war-torn third world country. I noticed that there was a bus waiting at the little bus stop there, so I assumed the guy was trying to catch it.

 

He sprinted right next to the bus, and then stopped dead in his tracks. He paused for a minute, and then yelled “THAT’S NOT THE ONE I NEED!”

 

He swished his hand in the direction of the bus driver, and exclaimed “Go! Shoo! Get out of here! Go!”

 

By this time, I was near him, so he decided to inform me personally of his situation. He looked at me and stated “that’s not the one I need.”

 

I didn’t really know what to say, so I just shrugged and said “it happens.”

 

When I was walking through the college one time between classes, I found myself near this aged black man. He and I were walking at the same speed, with him just a few steps ahead of me. All of a sudden he just stopped in his tracks without warning, and bent over. I almost ran into him, so I swerved a little to avoid him.

 

He got up and smiled at me. I was a little confused at first, but then I saw a pencil in his hand.

 

“I just found this cool pencil, it must be my lucky day!” he said giddily.

 

I smiled back at him and said “Yeah, I guess it is.”

 

This last story happened when I was casually trotting along next to the post office.

 

There was this little old white lady on the sidewalk in front of me (I think she may have been from the old folk’s home near there). The sidewalk at this point was only wide enough for one person, and this lady was just going super slow, pushing a walker in front of her as she walked.

 

For a long time, I tried to walk slower so I wouldn’t have to overtake her, but she was going nowhere fast. I finally decided that I would have to pass her, even if it would seem a little rude. When I was right at her side, she looked at me with hopeful eyes.

 

“Darius?” she asked me, smiling.

 

I didn’t understand what she was saying at first. So I hesitated.

 

“You’re not Darius…” She said, shaking her head wistfully.

 

I was more stumped than I’d ever been. I just couldn’t figure out how to respond to that, so I just kind of nodded and kept walking. Looking back, I wonder if something was wrong with her.

Leave a Reply

