This one time in like third grade I got locked in a bathroom… let’s hear the story. O_O

It was a few minutes after school had ended, and most of the students and staff were gone. I needed to go to the bathroom, so I went and found one next to the playground.

I was about halfway through casually peeing, everything was quiet, and when I heard someone call into the bathroom “is anyone in here?”

I thought it might be one of a few things: either someone was looking for someone else and decided to check the bathroom, or it could be the janitor, before he came in to start cleaning or perhaps to lock the bathroom for the day.

I knew it was a good idea to say something, but I felt really awkward yelling in a bathroom while peeing, so I just kept quiet and hoped that I could finish quickly and casually walk out. That didn’t end up happening, because by the time I was done, I went over to exit, but the door wouldn’t budge. I tried pushing, pulling, looking for some sort of handle, but there was nothing.

There was a sort of vent on the bottom of the door, so I tried to look through it; No one and nothing was out there. I got down on the floor and tried yelling though the vent, but no one heard. After a few minutes I stood back up and surveyed the bathroom, looking for possible escape routes.

There were no accessible windows. I was imagining the dread prospect of actually having to spend the night in that bathroom, I thought maybe I could drink out of the sink if I got thirsty, and going to the bathroom of course wouldn’t be a problem… finding a place to sleep would be a nightmare though.

I didn’t want any of this to have to become a reality, so I tried yelling through the vent again until my voice went out. Then I stood up, leaned on the door, and started kicking it. I tried kicking it in multiple different places, until I found the place that would make the most noise. I focused on kicking that spot repeatedly for several minutes.

Suddenly, I heard a woman’s voice ask “Are you stuck in there?”

“Yes!” I called out.

“Hold on, I’m going to get someone to unlock the door!” and like that, she was gone.

I slid to the floor and just caught my breath for a while. She came back with the janitor and they unlocked the door. By the time I got out, I was crying. I looked at the woman who heard me; it was that one lady that was going around and introducing salad bars to school cafeterias, she looked a little bit like Ellen Degeneres.

I may not remember all the environmental details, or the exact length of time I spent in there, but that feeling of dread is something I’ll always be able to recall vividly.

Leave a Reply

