“That’s what’s up!”

When I was in high school, I used to love to say the phrase “that’s what’s up!” Whenever I said it, I would always fervently knock on the nearest hard surface to add emphasis.

 

I had this Spanish class in my last two years of high school, and in this class I had a peculiar friend. He was very outgoing, and usually wore sunglasses. The thing the two of us had in common, was that we both regularly attended massive rave parties. After each weekend, he’d ask me which rave I’d been to that weekend, and how I liked it. We’d trade stories and experiences. He’d often refer to me as his “dope rave buddy.”

 

One day, I was leaning over his desk, listening to a particularly fascinating rave tale about the previous weekend. I don’t even remember what it was about, but it was something intense. At the end, I was so fired up, I exclaimed “that’s what’s up!” and started smashing on his desk. I didn’t realize it at first, but I accidentally picked the exact spot that his sunglasses were resting on to start hitting, and I ended up crushing his sunglasses into a crumpled heap on the desk.

 

When I saw my mistake, I didn’t know what to do, so I put on the straightest face I could, turned around, and walked away slowly. Coincidentally, that’s the day I decided to get a new catchphrase.

Leave a Reply

